ASIP Members Access  |  Become a Supporter  |  RSS Latest ASIP News  |  SiteMap  |  Job Seekers/Employers  | Facebook Google+ Twitter LinkedIn Contact ASIP


ASIP Awards Home page

ASIP Meritorious Awards

Gold-Headed Cane
Outstanding Investigator
Robbins Distinguished Educator
Cotran Early Career Investigator
Young Scientist Leadership
-- Formerly the Excellence in Science Award --

ASIP Trainee Travel Awards

Experimental Pathologist-in-Training (EPIT)
Experimental Pathologist-in-Graduate-Training (EPIGT)
ASIP Annual Meeting Trainee Travel Award
ASIP Trainee Travel Award for Late-breaking Abstracts
A. D. Sobel - ASIP Education Fund
Marcos Rojkind -
ASIP Trainee Travel
Gotlieb Undergraduate Student Travel Award (Funded by Gotlieb Family Fund for Undergraduate Education in Pathobiology)
Minority Trainee Travel
The Histochemical Society Sponsored Trainee Travel Award to attend the ASIP Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology

Other Awards
American College of Veterinary Pathologists (ACVP) Trainee Travel Award
Intersociety Council for Pathology Information (ICPI) Trainee Travel Award
SIPMet Young Investigator Award to Attend the ASIP Annual Meeting


  • 2014 Stephen Galli
  • 2013 William A. Muller pdf
  • 2012 Patricia A. D’Amore pdf
  • 2011 Rakesh Jain
  • 2011 Jordan Pober
  • 2010 Donald E. Ingber
  • 2009 George Michalopoulos
  • 2008 Michael A. Gimbrone, Jr.
  • 2007 Abul K. Abbas
  • 2006 Steven L. Teitelbaum
  • 2005 John Trojanowski pdf
  • 2004 Peter M. Howley
  • 2003 Janardan K. Reddy pdf
  • 2002 Harold F. Dvorak pdf
  • 2001 Marilyn G. Farquhar pdf
  • 2000 Errol C. Friedberg pdf
  • 1999 Francis V. Chisari pdf
  • 1998 Emil R. Unanue pdf
  • 1997 Richard G. Lynch pdf
  • 1996 Peter A. Ward
  • 1995 Thomas S. Edgington
  • 1994 N. K. Gonatas
  • 1993 Michael B. A. Oldstone
  • 1992 Russell Ross pdf
  • 1991 H. L. Moses
  • 1990 R. Baserga
  • 1989 Vincent T. Marchesi
  • 1988 Hans J. Muller-Eberhard
  • 1987 E. L. Becker
  • 1986 Peter C. Nowell
  • 1985 B. Benacerraf
  • 1984 Paul E. Lacy
  • 1983 G. Barry Pierce
  • 1982 E. Farber
  • 1981 Morris J. Karnovsky
  • 1980 Earl P. Benditt
  • 1979 Frank Dixon
  • 1977 R. T. Prehn
  • 1976 Jacob Furth



More Information about Meritorious Awards PDF


Constanza Gonzalez
Project Coordinator
cgonzalez at asip dot org

ASIP Rous-Whipple Award

First awarded in 1976, the Rous-Whipple Award was established in honor of the Presidents of the ASEP and the AAPB when the coalesced societies emerged as the AAP (which was later renamed the ASIP in 1992). The ASIP Rous-Whipple Award is given to a senior scientist with a distinguished career in research that has advanced the understanding of disease and with continued productivity at the time of this award. The Meritorious Awards Committee will consider the published record of peer-reviewed research and overall impact of the science, mentorship, and participation of the candidate and proteges in ASIP scientific meetings. There is no age eligibility requirement for this award; however, prior experience suggests that most successful awardees will be 50+ years old at the time of nomination. Awardees will receive an honorarium and a plaque and will present a lecture at the ASIP Annual Meeting that will form the basis of a publication in The American Journal of Pathology. Nominations for this award require: 1) three letters of recommendation, including at least two from ASIP members; 2) the candidate's curriculum vitae including bibliography; and 3) ASIP membership in good standing for at least five years prior to nomination.

For more information on ASIP Meritorious Awards contact Constanza Gonzalez,