emailContact Us    ASIP Members Access    Become a Supporter    News    Job Seekers/Employers    facebookGoogle+twitterinstagramlinkedinflickr

> Awards Home Page

Meritorious Awards

Gold-Headed Cane
Outstanding Investigator
Cotran Early Career Investigator
Young Scientist Leadership
--Formerly the Excellence in Science Award--
Robbins Distinguished Educator

ASIP Junior Faculty Awards

ASIP Junior Faculty Award
ASIP Junior Faculty Award to attend ASIP Annual Meeting at EB
ASIP Junior Faculty Award to attend PISA 2015

ASIP Trainee Travel Awards

Experimental Pathologist-in-Training (EPIT)
Experimental Pathologist-in-Graduate-Training (EPIGT)
ASIP Annual Meeting Trainee Travel Award
ASIP Trainee Travel Award for Late-breaking Abstracts
A.D. Sobel-ASIP Education Fund
Hans-Monga Family Trainee Travel
Marcos Rojkind-Monga ASIP Trainee Travel
Gotlieb Undergraduate Student Travel Award
(Funded by Gotlieb Family Fund for Undergraduate Education in Pathobiology)
Under-Represented Groups (URG) Trainee Travel
The Histochemical Society Sponsored Trainee Travel Award to attend the ASIP Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology
ASIP International Trainee Travel Award
The American Society for Investigative Pathology - American Physician Scientists Association Partnership Trainee Travel Award to attend the ASIP Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology

Other Awards

American College of Veterinary Pathologists (ACVP) Trainee Travel Award
Intersociety Council for Pathology Information (ICPI) Trainee Travel Award
SIPMet Young Investigator Award to Attend the ASIP Annual Meeting
ASIP Summer Research Opportunity Program in Pathology (SROPP)

FASEB Excellence in Science Award
Immunohistochemistry and Microscopy Short Course


EPIT Awardees

  • 2015 Ashfagul Alam
  • 2014 David Sullivan
  • 2013 Andrei Turtoi
  • 2012 Ronen Sumagin
  • 2011 Jennifer Brazil
  • 2010 Christopher T. Capaldo
  • 2009 Eric Peatman
  • 2008 Daniel Rittirsch
  • 2007 Winston Lee
  • 2007 Timothy Denning
  • 2006 Scott Tomlins
  • 2005 Edward B. Lee
  • 2004 Maddalena T. Tilli
  • 2003 Jonathan Brody
  • 2003 Mark S. Forman 
  • 2002 James Wohlschlegel
  • 2001 Daniel M. Skovronsky
  • 2000 Neta Ilan

Epit Awardees 1999 and Earlier

Merit Awardees

  • 2015 Anny-Claude Luissint
  • 2014 Daniel Kao, Andrei Turtoi
  • 2013 Veronica Azcutia
  • 2012 Michael Schnoor
  • 2011 Maria Tomasi
  • 2010 Stefan Koch
  • 2009 Stefan Koch
  • 2009 Joanne Lomas-Neira
  • 2008 Li Lei
  • 2007 Ying Geng
  • 2007 Christopher Shepard
    2006 Postdoctoral:
  • Udayan Apte
  • Mitra Esfandiarei
  • Jennifer Jahn
  • Doreen Wesche-Soldato
    2005 Postdoctoral:
  • Traci A. Wilgus
  • Predoctoral:
  • Kenneth J. Mandell
    2004 Postdoctoral:
  • Alan Meeker
  • Jennifer Bushman
    2003 Predoctoral:
  • Alex Chung Kyu Chin
  • Ryan M. Gill
  • Reid N. Orth
    2002 Postdoctoral:
  • Alan Rowe Schenkel
  • Sharon L. Ricketts
    2001 Postdoctoral:
  • Alan Rowe Schenkel
  • Madhuri Wadehra
    2000 Postdoctoral:
  • Qin Wang
  • Predoctoral:
  • Colleen Cebulla
  • Gavin Gordon
  • Aaron Bossler

Merit Awardees 1999 and Earlier

More Information about Trainee Travel Awards PDF


Tara A. Snethen, CAE, CMP
Senior Director of Meetings & Society Services
tsnethen at asip dot org

PISA 2015 > Awards & Honors > ASIP Trainee Travel > EPIT

ASIP Experimental Pathologist-in-Training Award (EPIT)


The EPIT is a prestigious award presented to an ASIP trainee member who is a postdoctoral fellow (including research and clinical fellows) and who has excelled in investigative efforts in studying mechanisms of disease, as evidenced by an abstract submission to the ASIP annual meeting (these abstracts MUST be submitted to ASIP topic categories), an extended research report (this report should not exceed 750 words nor include more than one table), and a letter of recommendation attesting to the candidate's role in the work and potential as a biomedical research investigator. The award includes: a certificate of achievement for the winning abstract presented at the ASIP Annual Meeting Awards Presentation at the Experimental Biology Meeting, a $1,500 stipend an d complimentary meeting registration.

Candidates for the EPIT Award are also considered for ASIP Merit Awards ($1,250 plus complimentary registration), which will be awarded to the best postdoctoral fellow/resident abstract. Each applicant must be a trainee member of ASIP. Prior recipients of the EPIT and Merit Awards may reapply if the work submitted is clearly distinct from the work previously submitted for their winning application (not just a continuation of the same project). In such cases, the applicants should submit a copy of the previous winning application along with the new application.