emailContact Us    ASIP Members Access    Become a Supporter    News    Job Seekers/Employers    facebookGoogle+twitterinstagramlinkedinflickr

> Awards Home Page

Meritorious Awards

Gold-Headed Cane
Outstanding Investigator
Cotran Early Career Investigator
Young Scientist Leadership
--Formerly the Excellence in Science Award--
Robbins Distinguished Educator

ASIP Junior Faculty Awards

ASIP Junior Faculty Award
ASIP Junior Faculty Award to attend ASIP Annual Meeting at EB
ASIP Junior Faculty Award to attend PISA 2015

ASIP Trainee Travel Awards

Experimental Pathologist-in-Training (EPIT)
Experimental Pathologist-in-Graduate-Training (EPIGT)
ASIP Annual Meeting Trainee Travel Award
ASIP Trainee Travel Award for Late-breaking Abstracts
A.D. Sobel-ASIP Education Fund
Hans-Monga Family Trainee Travel
Marcos Rojkind-Monga ASIP Trainee Travel
Gotlieb Undergraduate Student Travel Award
(Funded by Gotlieb Family Fund for Undergraduate Education in Pathobiology)
Under-Represented Groups (URG) Trainee Travel
The Histochemical Society Sponsored Trainee Travel Award to attend the ASIP Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology
ASIP International Trainee Travel Award
The American Society for Investigative Pathology - American Physician Scientists Association Partnership Trainee Travel Award to attend the ASIP Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology

Other Awards

American College of Veterinary Pathologists (ACVP) Trainee Travel Award
Intersociety Council for Pathology Information (ICPI) Trainee Travel Award
SIPMet Young Investigator Award to Attend the ASIP Annual Meeting
ASIP Summer Research Opportunity Program in Pathology (SROPP)

FASEB Excellence in Science Award
Immunohistochemistry and Microscopy Short Course


  • 2016 - Magali Saint-Geniez, PhD
  • 2015 - Dipak Panigraphy, MD PDF
  • 2014 - Timothy Denning, PhD PDF
  • 2013 - Jonathan Lin, MD, PhD PDF
  • 2012 - Andrei I. Ivanov PDF
  • 2011 - Monte Willis, MD, PhD
  • 2010 - Diane Bielenberg, PhD
  • 2009 - Carlos Moreno, PhDPDF

Supported by

Elsevier The ASIP Cotran Early Career  Investigator Award is partially supported by an unrestricted educational grant from Elsevier, an ASIP Corporate Partner



More Information about Meritorious Awards PDF


Constanza Gonzalez
Project Coordinator
cgonzalez at asip dot org > Awards & Honors > Meritorious > Cotran

ASIP Cotran Early Career Investigator Award

Partially supported by an unrestricted educational grant from Elsevier

This ASIP Award recognizes early career investigators with demonstrated excellence as an investigator with recently established or emerging independence and with a research focus leading to an improved understanding of the conceptual basis of disease. Awardees will receive the stipend and a plaque at the ASIP Annual Business Meeting. At that time, s/he is invited to present a paper based upon the award winning work, which will form the basis for a publication in The American Journal of Pathology. There is no age eligibility requirement for this award; however, awardees will be several years beyond the initial faculty appointment and will have received extramural grant support as a principal investigator (or equivalent) beyond the level of a career development award and should have a non-tenured faculty appointment (or equivalent) at the time of nomination. Nominations for the award require: 1) letters from two members of the Society describing the basis for recommendation; 2) the candidate's curriculum vitae including bibliography; and 3) ASIP membership in good standing for at least twelve months.

This award is named in honor of Ramzi S. Cotran, (1933-2000) a leader in pathology, formerly of Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women’s Hospital.

Read more about the life of Ramzi S. Cotran in The American Journal of Pathology.

Nominations for ASIP 2017 Meritorious Awards

The Deadline was October 1, 2015

For more information on ASIP Meritorious Awards contact Constanza Gonzalez,